Five Fantasias for guitar Op.32

Written in 2003 in response to a commission from the guitarist Craig Ogden, who gave the first performance at the 2007 Gloucester Three Choirs Festival. The five pieces are:

I: Intrada
II: Tango ostinato
III: Leggenda
IV: Forlana
V: Toccata

Craig Ogden writes of the work:

“Lionel Sainsbury’s Five Fantasias are a substantial and valuable addition to the repertoire. The work exploits the full range of guitaristic sonorities and despite this being Sainsbury’s first venture into guitar writing, the pieces are eminently playable but also highly original. The set is worthy of the attention of any concert guitarist and should stand alongside other great works of the 20th and 21st century in its scope and depth.”


guitar solo


c.13 minutes

Year Completed


Photo Gallery

To order scores, request a score price list, or for any other enquiries, please send a message via the Contact Form.

Orchestral Music

Piano Music

Chamber Music